Car seat laws are made for safety purposes – mainly for the safety of “children.” These laws differ by state and county. In states like Arizona, there’s a $50 fine for going against the car seat laws.
This article explains the Arizona car seat laws in detail, including the penalties you’d pay for not abiding.
While the Arizona car seat laws do not specify the type of child seats to use (by age), the law legally requires all children under the age of 5 and 8 years old who are shorter than 4’9” to be put in a child-restraint system.
Parents and caregivers are expected to prioritize these laws while driving with children onboard.
Arizona Car Seat Laws
There are quite a number of laws in Arizona regarding how children should be carried in vehicles. These laws are based on the age and weight of the kids. It is expected that every parent or caregiver abides by these laws while living/driving in Arizona.
Child Restraint Laws
Arizona car seat laws mandate that children under specific age brackets must be secured in an appropriate child restraint system while traveling in a motor vehicle. The child restraint laws in Arizona are as follows:
1. Rear-Facing Seats:
“Infants” under 1 older (less than a year old) and weighing less than 20 pounds must be placed in a rear-facing car seat.
They should always be in rear-facing seats for as long as they are of the indicated age and weigh less than 20 lbs – while also abiding by the manufacturer’s weight and height limits.
2. Forward-Facing Seats:
In Arizona, you can only start putting your infant in a forward-facing seat (with an internal harness) when the child is at least one year old and weigh more than 20 pounds (but less than 40 pounds) – if your child weighs more than 40lbs, you shouldn’t put them in a forward-facing seat.
3. Booster Seats:
Booster seats are indicated for children who have outgrown rear- and forward-facing car seats. Children must be secured in booster seats until they reach 4 feet 9 inches in height or turn eight years old, whichever comes first.
While being put in the booster seats, you should also ensure the child is properly safeguarded with a seatbelt.
4. Seat Belts:
You can use only the seatbelt once your child is above eight years of age, or has passed the height of 4 feet 9 inches. But, some parents prefer to still keep their eight- to ten-year-olds in booster seats until they feel they’re good enough to fit properly into the seat belt system.
Age and Weight Requirements
The laws explained above clearly indicate the age and weight requirements for each seating pattern.
So, at each age of your child – and depending on what the kid weighs – you can easily tell what type of car seat you should use. You should ensure your child meets the specific criteria before moving on to use another car seat type.
Penalties and Fees for Non-Compliance
Apparently, there are penalty fees for violating Arizona’s car seat; the lowest penalty fee is $50, and in some cases, you could pay up to $250.
Actually, for the first time you go against the law, you’d be fined $50, and if you go against the law subsequently (after the first time), you could be paying up to $250 with citations too.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can You Put a Child in the Front Seat in Arizona?
Although Arizona car seat laws do not specify the particular seat to put your child, it is generally not recommendable to put children (who are less than 13 years old) in the front seat – most especially if the car is equipped with front airbags. The rear/back seat is the best place to keep a child.
Are Booster Seats Legal in Arizona?
Yes, it is legal to use booster seats for children not up to eight years of age or 4 feet 9 inches in height. Well, some parents may still want to use booster seats for their older kids – up to twelve years of age, that’s not illegal.
Can You Leave a Child in a Car in Arizona?
While there are no official laws against leaving a child inside the car, it is not a good practice. Leaving a child alone inside the car is not advisable, regardless of the state you’re living in. You should always go out with your child.
It is important to know and adhere to Arizona’s car seat laws if you’re a citizen of the state or living in any of the cities within the jurisdiction.
Not only would adhering to these laws save you the cost of paying for penalties, but it’d also help to prevent your child in the case of any driving mishap or collision.